RSS

New ATV

25 Aug

Well I bought a used four wheeler Saturday. It is a 1997 Honda Fourtrax 300 4×4. The only noticeable problem was one worn tire.

I spent Saturday changing the oil, spark plug, and air filter. Then Sunday i went for a ride in the foot hills. Somehow, I ended going on trail i never knew about. On a large rock was written Devil’s Backbone Coal Mine. The trail got real rough and I was alone and I didn’t want to chance anything so I turned around. I will be back to this area sooner or later to explore some more. On my way back home I could hear a grinding and squealing noise. I pulled over and realized my back brake was stuck. I loosened the cables and fininshed driving home with only front brakes. Today I tore into the brakes and saw the pads had disinigrated. My drum was full of brake powder which was a pain trying the pry off. Now I have some new pads ordered and will put them on tomorrow.

Brake Job

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “New ATV

  1. Dennis

    August 25, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Congrats on the new purchase. That looks like a nice ride! I got to scrolling around the map you linked to, and it looks like there are a lot of trails west of town. I’m not very familiar with that area, but I might have to check it out sometime.

     
  2. Tyler

    August 26, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Nice ride due. If you don’t mind me asking, how much doesn’t something like that run. I’ve been wanting to get a used 4 wheeler for a while.

     
  3. desertwoodrat

    August 26, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Well the sellers were asking $1800 but with the front tire almost bald, I talked them down to $1600.

    I think I will be exploring that area more since I wouldn’t have to trailer my atv back and forth. But I still want wait… need to explore the swell more – Behind the Reef, Eagle Canyon, and Devil’s Racetrack just to name a few.

     

Leave a comment